Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #31
Madfelon
Telegraph User
 
Madfelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '11
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 330
Oh well I really don't care either way, im still going to tether and if they change down the road I will adapt. I give no loyalty to a cellular company and will use them like a cheap two dollar hooker.
Madfelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:37 PM   #32
psychotron
Telegraph User
 
psychotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 23, '12
Posts: 65
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 596
Any comments actually related to the topic of this thread?
psychotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:44 AM   #33
ChilinMichael
Telegraph User
 
ChilinMichael's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Sep 13, '08
Location: New York
Posts: 52
Phone: HTC Evo 3D
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 867
Worse. They are apparently consolidating towers and in my area they did it *****-backwards. They took down the closest tower to me (1 mile) in preparation to upgrade two towers (1.7m and 2.1m from me) and that update got pushed back to June 22nd now. So there's a tower missing, and the others aren't making up for it. 3-4 bars signal, 300kb/s best, random entirely missed incoming calls, errors on texts. Thanks Sprint.
ChilinMichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:23 AM   #34
Madfelon
Telegraph User
 
Madfelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '11
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 330
Hard to understand but my 3G has gotten worse yet my 4g has gotten a 1000 times better and this is with only one bar of service.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3249703398.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	43653
Madfelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:30 AM   #35
gopher_otis
Telephone User
 
gopher_otis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 3, '12
Posts: 167
Thanks: 26
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
SU$: 757
This test was conducted and the image uploaded while streaming Pandora on high quality in my bathroom (which I could never do two days ago.) It's definitely getting better.

Sent via Forum Runner on my redsn0w 0.9.10b6 jailbroken iOS 5.1 iPhone 4 
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2873559385.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	43656  

Last edited by gopher_otis; 04-16-2012 at 10:32 AM.
gopher_otis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:52 AM   #36
psychotron
Telegraph User
 
psychotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 23, '12
Posts: 65
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madfelon View Post
Hard to understand but my 3G has gotten worse yet my 4g has gotten a 1000 times better and this is with only one bar of service.


Attachment 43653
Thats wifi from your iPad. Lets see the 4G running on your phone.
psychotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:03 AM   #37
Madfelon
Telegraph User
 
Madfelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '11
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychotron

Thats wifi from your iPad. Lets see the 4G running on your phone.
That's my iPad tethered to my Motorola photon.
Madfelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:10 AM   #38
psychotron
Telegraph User
 
psychotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 23, '12
Posts: 65
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madfelon View Post
That's my iPad tethered to my Motorola photon.
Yea, not a good assessment of your speed. Run a speedtest on your Photon.
psychotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:03 PM   #39
Madfelon
Telegraph User
 
Madfelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '11
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 330
This is while tethered to ipad running netflix in HD.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120416_120317.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	43658
Madfelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:49 PM   #40
Kendog210
Cellular Phone User
 
Kendog210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 13, '12
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 47
Thanked 85 Times in 83 Posts
SU$: 19,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madfelon View Post
This is while tethered to ipad running netflix in HD.

Attachment 43658
My wife was getting about 4-8Mbps on 4G here in SA. Overall the 4G wasnt bad. it ofcourse drained her battery quickly and would go in and out with the signal but overall pretty good in my area. The 3G speeds were the issue. When it came to 3G I did not care about a set speed. I just cared about functionality. My phone simply did not work. Hopefully it will get better sooner before later.
Kendog210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:59 PM   #41
gedster314
Cordless Phone User
 
gedster314's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Jul 16, '07
Posts: 554
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 5,144
Bandwidth was 1Mbps 18months ago and has been falling ever since. Over the weekend, 19kbps down and 120kbps up. Calls and emails have been done, so far no comment from Sprint except they are looking into it.

I say it's time to plug the phone in, load up the Verizon PRL, fire up the wifi tethering, set up a wifi repeater and give the neighbors free wifi.
gedster314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:08 PM   #42
gopher_otis
Telephone User
 
gopher_otis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 3, '12
Posts: 167
Thanks: 26
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
SU$: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by gedster314
I say it's time to plug the phone in, load up the Verizon PRL, fire up the wifi tethering, set up a wifi repeater and give the neighbors free wifi.
lol
gopher_otis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:32 PM   #43
bigzeto
Telegraph User
 
bigzeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 25, '02
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 87
Phone: Palm Pre
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
SU$: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by gedster314 View Post
Bandwidth was 1Mbps 18months ago and has been falling ever since. Over the weekend, 19kbps down and 120kbps up. Calls and emails have been done, so far no comment from Sprint except they are looking into it.

I say it's time to plug the phone in, load up the Verizon PRL, fire up the wifi tethering, set up a wifi repeater and give the neighbors free wifi.
bigzeto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:47 PM   #44
psychotron
Telegraph User
 
psychotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 23, '12
Posts: 65
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendog210 View Post
My wife was getting about 4-8Mbps on 4G here in SA. Overall the 4G wasnt bad. it ofcourse drained her battery quickly and would go in and out with the signal but overall pretty good in my area. The 3G speeds were the issue. When it came to 3G I did not care about a set speed. I just cared about functionality. My phone simply did not work. Hopefully it will get better sooner before later.
Yep, my problem exactly. I was getting 6-8Mbps down but my ET4G would be dead in 4-6 hours depending on use with 4G on the whole time. I am getting 16-18Mbps down on my Razr Maxx and I haven't been able to kill the battery yet, I have tried. I get well over a day with moderate use and at least 20 hours hammering on it.
psychotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:23 PM   #45
Pyramid-3
Account Locked
 
Pyramid-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 5, '08
Posts: 1,173
Phone: HTC Evo 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
SU$: 10,901
Nearly unusable off WiFi. I've given up. Just waiting for each phone of my 5 lines to come off contract and head for the hills.
Pyramid-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers > Is your coverage/data speeds getting better or worst?

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sprint Coverage/Data Speeds in New York City JeffFinance123 Sprint Discussion 37 11-27-2011 08:16 PM
3G networks don't deliver speeds users expect, Gartner says AT&T, singled out.. SLME The Tech News Desk 2 01-29-2009 11:01 AM
Slow 3G speeds ookees Sprint Discussion 5 03-21-2008 11:14 PM
Anyone else see RevA-enabled speeds dramatically slower? Fountainhead Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 8 03-11-2008 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:05 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -