Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-10-2012, 12:49 AM   #1
xxxjdoggxxx
Telegraph User
 
xxxjdoggxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 4, '08
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 31
Phone: Touch Pro 2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 661
Warning letter about data roaming

The other day I received a letter from Sprint about my roaming data usage. The letter is attached (sorry I don't have a scanner so I took a picture of the letter with my phone, it's readable but blurry) Basically it says I am in violation of the roaming terms and conditions. I have unlimited data and unlimited 3G roaming is included in my plan (according to my bill and Sprint's own website). A screen shot is attached below. The only time I ever use data on roaming is when I go up to Michigan to visit family which is maybe a couple times a year (there is no Sprint coverage in Upper Michigan). In previous years I took my laptop and tethered with my phone. The last time I went up there however I forgot my laptop and didn't do any tethering. Just some web browsing.



Has anyone else received a similar letter? The letter says I am limited to 300MB a month on roaming. It also says my account is being monitored now. I called Sprint today on an unrelated issue and was told my account is now "being handled by management". I was then forwarded to a manager who took care of my issue and didn't mention anything about the roaming or why my account is being handled by management. I had a long day at work and didn't feel like arguing so I let the issue go for now.



I pay about $100 a month for my plan, barely make any calls and I always keep my data usage reasonable (I tether maybe a couple times a year just for web browsing). I am sick of being treated like I did something wrong when my plan details say I have "unlimited" 3G roaming. It's not like I was running a dedicated server or something. I was just doing a little bit of web browsing on roaming for a couple days. If I can find another provider that has reasonable data policies (or at least doesn't call 300MB unlimited) and will let me use my Evo 3D I will probably be leaving Sprint. I won't even get into my 3G speeds (on Sprint towers) being horrible over the last year in areas that used to have fast 3G as I see there is already another thread about that.








xxxjdoggxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 07:41 AM   #2
Kendog210
Cellular Phone User
 
Kendog210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 13, '12
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 47
Thanked 85 Times in 83 Posts
SU$: 19,775
Wow thats crazy. I know in the Sprint T&C is states that you have limited roaming. But I didnt realize it says unlimited roaming on the bill. Doesnt surprise me though. I guess your going to have to accept it or switch carriers if you can. This happens to others. Since the network has become so stressed, people who once had excellent reception now start to roam. And then Sprint threatens to cut off service because of it. I would just go elsewhere but understand if this is more difficult then said.

Also I dont think you can use your phone on other carriers. Some of the prepaid carriers can flash your phone for their network. It just varies though
Kendog210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 07:44 AM   #3
variablebinary
Cellular Phone User
 
variablebinary's Avatar
 
Mood: Lurking
Join Date: Feb 2, '06
Location: USA
Posts: 1,117
Phone: iPhone 5S AT&T
Thanks: 10
Thanked 103 Times in 79 Posts
My Mood: Lurking
SU$: 12,462
If you are roaming that much, get a new carrier.

Roaming is not a right.
__________________
Sprint Touchpoint, Kyocera KWC 2235 (Verizon), Samsung N400, Samsung A920, Palm Centro, HTC Touch Pro, HTC Hero, Samsung Nexus S, Galaxy SII E4GT, Galaxy SII (AT&T), iPhone 4S (AT&T), iPhone 5 (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T), iPhone 5S (AT&T)

Steve Jobs, January 9th 2007, 10:44am: "We filed for over 200 patents for all the inventions in iPhone and we intend to protect them."
variablebinary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
Kendog210
Cellular Phone User
 
Kendog210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 13, '12
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 47
Thanked 85 Times in 83 Posts
SU$: 19,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by variablebinary View Post
If you are roaming that much, get a new carrier.

Roaming is not a right.
Well whats weird about this is if the attached photo from the OP is not manipulated and is from the Sprint website, it makes it seem you are incorrect. Seems roaming is a right. If the photo is correct, you have unlimited roaming and are then entitled to it.
Kendog210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:09 AM   #5
variablebinary
Cellular Phone User
 
variablebinary's Avatar
 
Mood: Lurking
Join Date: Feb 2, '06
Location: USA
Posts: 1,117
Phone: iPhone 5S AT&T
Thanks: 10
Thanked 103 Times in 79 Posts
My Mood: Lurking
SU$: 12,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendog210

Well whats weird about this is if the attached photo from the OP is not manipulated and is from the Sprint website, it makes it seem you are incorrect. Seems roaming is a right. If the photo is correct, you have unlimited roaming and are then entitled to it.
Test that theory and let us know how it works for you.
__________________
Sprint Touchpoint, Kyocera KWC 2235 (Verizon), Samsung N400, Samsung A920, Palm Centro, HTC Touch Pro, HTC Hero, Samsung Nexus S, Galaxy SII E4GT, Galaxy SII (AT&T), iPhone 4S (AT&T), iPhone 5 (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T), iPhone 5S (AT&T)

Steve Jobs, January 9th 2007, 10:44am: "We filed for over 200 patents for all the inventions in iPhone and we intend to protect them."
variablebinary is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to variablebinary For This Useful Post:
usernameOU812 (02-10-2012)
Old 02-10-2012, 08:19 AM   #6
Kendog210
Cellular Phone User
 
Kendog210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 13, '12
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 47
Thanked 85 Times in 83 Posts
SU$: 19,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by variablebinary View Post
Test that theory and let us know how it works for you.
I quit my sorry excuse for Sprint service so Ill let someone else test the theory But I wish I had. It would have saved me alot of money in ETF if I could have got Sprint to drop my contract by roaming.

But Sprint needs to fix the website so that it does not show "unlimited" under roaming. If its 300MB like they state, they should change the site to show this. It doesnt surprise me, Sprint employs many false advertisement tactics. This is no different.
Kendog210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:41 AM   #7
Subie77
Sprint Chic
 
Subie77's Avatar
 
Mood: Psychedelic
Join Date: Feb 8, '12
Location: Southwest
Posts: 119
Phone: Droid Charge
Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
My Mood: Psychedelic
SU$: 1,128
Switching carriers won't save you from running into this issue again. Maybe so if you switched to the carrier who's network you were roaming on for this particular instance yes. But no carrier likes people roaming on another carriers network for very long. That would be like paying for one carriers service and enjoying another for free. Verizon and AT and T both discourage this as well and i know this for a fact being as I have been on both carriers myself. While being on ATT and visiting family in a very rural area i roamed quite a bit and got the same stern letter from them. This is not Sprint specific.
Subie77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 11:51 AM   #8
sitlet
Cordless Phone User
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 25, '03
Location: Michigan
Posts: 997
Phone: HTC Evo 3D
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
SU$: 3,344
Quote:
I have unlimited data and unlimited 3G roaming is included in my plan (according to my bill and Sprint's own website).
Nobody has unlimited data roaming. Every account is limited to 300mb a month, it says this in your contract. The unlimited data is on sprint's network only.
sitlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:03 PM   #9
Kendog210
Cellular Phone User
 
Kendog210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 13, '12
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 47
Thanked 85 Times in 83 Posts
SU$: 19,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post
Nobody has unlimited data roaming. Every account is limited to 300mb a month, it says this in your contract. The unlimited data is on sprint's network only.
I think part of the OP's confusion is that the Sprint website is not matching the T&C that states the 300MB limit. The screenshot of the website is stating "unlimited" 3G roaming. Basically Sprint should change that to state 300MB like their T&C shows
Kendog210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:10 PM   #10
w7excursion
Hit Boy
 
w7excursion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 3, '05
Location: The Upper Room
Posts: 15,856
Phone: Blk N4 & Wht S4
Trades: 10
Thanks: 329
Thanked 391 Times in 355 Posts
SU$: 116,505
Yes they should. For people that do not come to the forums a lot or stare at the sprint t's & c's page all day everyday it might be confusing since it says unlimited. Mine says the same thing. The usage tracker needs a major overhaul also.
__________________
MY PHONE IS BETTER THAN YOURS!!! Stop reading me!
w7excursion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:43 PM   #11
xxxjdoggxxx
Telegraph User
 
xxxjdoggxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 4, '08
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 31
Phone: Touch Pro 2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by variablebinary View Post
If you are roaming that much, get a new carrier.

Roaming is not a right.



If you would have actually read all of my post you would know that I rarely ever roam. I never said anywhere roaming is a right. Get off your high horse.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendog210 View Post

But Sprint needs to fix the website so that it does not show "unlimited" under roaming. If its 300MB like they state, they should change the site to show this. It doesnt surprise me, Sprint employs many false advertisement tactics. This is no different.



My point exactly. Here is the definition of the word unlimited:



Quote:
un·lim·it·ed /ˌənˈlimitid/
adj.
1. Having no restrictions or controls: an unlimited travel ticket.
2. Having or seeming to have no boundaries; infinite: an unlimited horizon.
3. Without qualification or exception; absolute: unlimited self-confidence.



Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post
Nobody has unlimited data roaming. Every account is limited to 300mb a month, it says this in your contract. The unlimited data is on sprint's network only.



That's not what Sprint's website and my bill say.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendog210 View Post
I think part of the OP's confusion is that the Sprint website is not matching the T&C that states the 300MB limit. The screenshot of the website is stating "unlimited" 3G roaming. Basically Sprint should change that to state 300MB like their T&C shows



When I signed my contract to get my Evo 3D I read the terms and conditions and do not recall seeing anything about a 300MB cap on roaming data. I do remember seeing something about more than 50% of usage has to be on Sprint's towers (I am no where near using 50% on roaming). Maybe they changed it since then. I don't know. Regardless there are at least two different places where it says I have "unlimited" roaming.



At best Sprint is being very deceptive. At worst this is flat out false advertising and Sprint may be leaving themselves open to a lawsuit. I find it funny Sprint is now running an ad on their website bragging about how they are the only provider where unlimited really means unlimited. I wonder how many new customers will see the word unlimited next to data roaming and go through the same thing I did.



And for those of you that doubt the validity of my screen shot I posted this topic on other forums and right away had at least three people provide the same screen shot. If you have an "unlimited" plan on Sprint log in to your account and see it for yourself. I will be calling Sprint sometime this weekend about this issue. I will let you all know what happens.
xxxjdoggxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:27 PM   #12
sfhub
Cellular Phone User
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 8, '02
Posts: 2,367
Thanks: 25
Thanked 212 Times in 162 Posts
SU$: 25,208
Sprint has been known to change their T&Cs, but in this case, the 300MB and 800min thing has been there a while, certainly at the time the Evo 3D came out.
sfhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:18 PM   #13
Kendog210
Cellular Phone User
 
Kendog210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 13, '12
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 47
Thanked 85 Times in 83 Posts
SU$: 19,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub View Post
Sprint has been known to change their T&Cs, but in this case, the 300MB and 800min thing has been there a while, certainly at the time the Evo 3D came out.
Needless to say they need to fix the mis-representation on their website. It is not unlimited so they need to fix this. More people will look at their bill and account online then they will read the entire T&C.
Kendog210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:18 PM   #14
Bibbin
Cellular Phone User
 
Bibbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 5, '08
Posts: 1,588
Phone: ATT,HM,S &TMO
Thanks: 195
Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
SU$: 16,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjdoggxxx View Post
The other day I received a letter from Sprint about my roaming data usage. The letter is attached (sorry I don't have a scanner so I took a picture of the letter with my phone, it's readable but blurry) Basically it says I am in violation of the roaming terms and conditions. I have unlimited data and unlimited 3G roaming is included in my plan (according to my bill and Sprint's own website). A screen shot is attached below. The only time I ever use data on roaming is when I go up to Michigan to visit family which is maybe a couple times a year (there is no Sprint coverage in Upper Michigan). In previous years I took my laptop and tethered with my phone. The last time I went up there however I forgot my laptop and didn't do any tethering. Just some web browsing.



Has anyone else received a similar letter? The letter says I am limited to 300MB a month on roaming. It also says my account is being monitored now. I called Sprint today on an unrelated issue and was told my account is now "being handled by management". I was then forwarded to a manager who took care of my issue and didn't mention anything about the roaming or why my account is being handled by management. I had a long day at work and didn't feel like arguing so I let the issue go for now.



I pay about $100 a month for my plan, barely make any calls and I always keep my data usage reasonable (I tether maybe a couple times a year just for web browsing). I am sick of being treated like I did something wrong when my plan details say I have "unlimited" 3G roaming. It's not like I was running a dedicated server or something. I was just doing a little bit of web browsing on roaming for a couple days. If I can find another provider that has reasonable data policies (or at least doesn't call 300MB unlimited) and will let me use my Evo 3D I will probably be leaving Sprint. I won't even get into my 3G speeds (on Sprint towers) being horrible over the last year in areas that used to have fast 3G as I see there is already another thread about that.








Was this the only bill cycle during which you exceeded 300 mb while roaming?
Bibbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:35 PM   #15
Quill
Lyla's mommy
 
Quill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 23, '03
Location: Seattle-area
Posts: 23,982
Phone: S6 Active
Trades: 19
Thanks: 62
Thanked 483 Times in 359 Posts
SU$: 100,434
It would be so awesome if people could play a little nicer in the sandbox. If you are confused by what that means perhaps a review of the rules or not hitting the post button if in doubt. Or, PM a mod. Just a few thoughts.
__________________
I'm a mom, so, I got eyes in the back of my head which means I can keep y'all from flaming each other to death while simultaneously ensuring my kiddo doesn't burn the house down. Enjoy your visit.
If you see a post that violates our forum guidelines, click the button to let us know!
Quill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Quill For This Useful Post:
Bibbin (02-10-2012)
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers > Warning letter about data roaming

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data Roaming Benjamonous Sprint Discussion 61 01-06-2012 12:04 PM
Data Call Failure when Roaming ottomatic Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 6 10-12-2011 11:28 AM
Will I be charged for Data Roaming? mideastbeast Sprint Discussion 10 06-26-2010 09:05 PM
Unlimited Data Plan= Free Data Roaming In Canada? Spruce da Bruce Sprint Discussion 8 06-02-2008 08:09 PM
Roaming warning: Always, Never, or Auto? Billkwando Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 12 03-04-2008 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -