Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 11:21 AM   #1
Benjamonous
 
Benjamonous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 22, '11
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 14
Data Roaming

Hi guys, I'm new to the forums and I had a quick question. I recently joined Sprint with an iPhone 4S and noticed on my account that I've already racked up over 600MB in off-network data roaming.

My understanding is that the limit is 300MB, but on my "Usage" page it shows unlimited data roaming.

I just want to make sure I don't get some nasty overage charges next bill, or that Sprint decides to terminate me for excessive roaming.

Here's a screenshot of my Usage page showing my data roaming:




Any thoughts?

Thanks
Benjamonous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 12:55 PM   #2
irev210
Telephone User
 
irev210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 6, '05
Location: California
Posts: 164
Phone: Audiovox 6601
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
SU$: 2,031
Lots of people roam that much and never have issues, others aren't so lucky. Usually you will get a warning first.

I wouldn't worry about it much.
irev210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 03:13 PM   #3
nmherron
S4GRU
 
nmherron's Avatar
 
Mood: Shocked
Join Date: Jul 17, '11
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 2,040
Phone: Epic 4G Touch
Thanks: 364
Thanked 195 Times in 154 Posts
My Mood: Shocked
SU$: 17,814
I consistently go over 350MB roaming data. But not every month. It average approximately every other month. I even had 1GB of roaming data one month. I have never received a letter.

I think where they get suspicious is if you do it month after month, and it disproportionately is on Verizon only. Then the letters come out.
nmherron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:09 PM   #4
goodiemob
9330 curve 3G
 
goodiemob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 24, '04
Location: bumpass,va
Posts: 1,541
Phone: curve 3G
Thanks: 10
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
SU$: 3,202
How do you know if ur on bigred?my sprint curve 3G goes into digital roaming even if it is on home only.
goodiemob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:29 AM   #5
sitlet
Cordless Phone User
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 25, '03
Location: Michigan
Posts: 997
Phone: HTC Evo 3D
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
SU$: 3,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodiemob View Post
How do you know if ur on bigred?my sprint curve 3G goes into digital roaming even if it is on home only.
Well if you see the roaming triangle, then you are roaming. Really no way to tell what other carrier you are on, but normally with sprint prl's the phones will go to a verizon tower first.
sitlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 11:34 AM   #6
Guest
 
BrettW's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
SU$: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet

Well if you see the roaming triangle, then you are roaming. Really no way to tell what other carrier you are on, but normally with sprint prl's the phones will go to a verizon tower first.
Actually the iPhone doesn't show a triangle if it says extended your roaming

Sent from my iPhone 4S using SU Forum
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 11:36 AM   #7
irev210
Telephone User
 
irev210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 6, '05
Location: California
Posts: 164
Phone: Audiovox 6601
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
SU$: 2,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettW View Post
Actually the iPhone doesn't show a triangle if it says extended your roaming

Sent from my iPhone 4S using SU Forum
I wonder how many people don't know that.

I bet there are lots of people on 1x or on 1x roaming with ~120kbps max 1x speed and 800ms latency.
irev210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 11:42 AM   #8
rambo47
Idoru
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 12, '09
Location: Denville, NJ.
Posts: 2,421
Phone: iPhone 6
Thanks: 114
Thanked 172 Times in 146 Posts
SU$: 21,615
Sprint doesn't charge you for excessive roaming. If you're a chronic roamer they will send you a letter warning you about it stating that if your excessive roaming continues your account will be terminated (no ETF). But there are no bills for it. If you roam so much as to be considered "excessive" then Sprint isn't the carrier for you based on network coverage.
rambo47 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rambo47 For This Useful Post:
ArtlovesKC (01-10-2012)
Old 11-25-2011, 05:09 AM   #9
joesmoe
Telegraph User
 
joesmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 4, '10
Posts: 35
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 189
U used 23gb on sprints network?

How?
joesmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:16 AM   #10
recithree
master electrician
 
recithree's Avatar
 
Mood: Happy
Join Date: May 12, '06
Location: virginia beach
Posts: 820
Phone: note 2
Trades: 1
Thanks: 13
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
My Mood: Happy
SU$: 7,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post
Well if you see the roaming triangle, then you are roaming. Really no way to tell what other carrier you are on, but normally with sprint prl's the phones will go to a verizon tower first.
a way to see who you are roaming on is to dial a number(or your own number) without a area code when the error recording comes up it will tell you who they are.
recithree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:33 AM   #11
JeffDTD
Cellular Phone User
 
JeffDTD's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: May 1, '06
Location: Hattiesburg,MS
Posts: 1,448
Phone: Samsung EPIC
Thanks: 11
Thanked 87 Times in 66 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 18,855
Send a message via AIM to JeffDTD
Quote:
Originally Posted by joesmoe
U used 23gb on sprints network?

How?
Tethering.

The fact that folks are still getting away with 15 , 20, 30 gigs a month on sprint is crazy. That kind of usage is going to tax even network vision towers if multiple users do it. I love my 2 to 3 gigs a month...and im on the phone all the time. Extreme usage cases will prob be the loudest sprint bashers when sprint finally puts a cap on unlimited or starts throttling
__________________
My Plan: Everything Data Family=$129.99, 4 lines,

JeffDTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:46 AM   #12
joesmoe
Telegraph User
 
joesmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 4, '10
Posts: 35
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 189
I just don't see how someone can use that on a phone. I've never ht 10gb even with tethering

And I I'll a daily video podcast automatically too!
joesmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:52 PM   #13
phone-a-holic
Making a BOLD statement
 
phone-a-holic's Avatar
 
Mood: Breezy
Join Date: Feb 2, '05
Location: GA
Posts: 1,605
Phone: Galaxy S IV
Trades: 5
Thanks: 8
Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
My Mood: Breezy
SU$: 2,065
Well I got a warning letter and phone call for excessive roaming only used about 4gb two months straight.
__________________
Why do we still have Sprint accounts?
phone-a-holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:59 PM   #14
nmherron
S4GRU
 
nmherron's Avatar
 
Mood: Shocked
Join Date: Jul 17, '11
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 2,040
Phone: Epic 4G Touch
Thanks: 364
Thanked 195 Times in 154 Posts
My Mood: Shocked
SU$: 17,814
4GB roaming is a lot. Even over two months.
nmherron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:13 PM   #15
joesmoe
Telegraph User
 
joesmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 4, '10
Posts: 35
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 189
I've routinely roamed 2-3gb a month for years,mi don't think they have a problem with 4gb per 2 months.
joesmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Data Roaming

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data Roaming on Phone to Avoid ETF tetris1369 Sprint Discussion 33 07-11-2010 03:21 PM
Texting and using data while roaming kunjanp Sprint Discussion 3 10-15-2009 12:45 PM
Data roaming RJSinMO Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 2 08-10-2009 02:32 PM
Using data services while roaming? helpmeplease RIM BlackBerry Phones 48 07-14-2008 09:07 PM
Unlimited Data Plan= Free Data Roaming In Canada? Spruce da Bruce Sprint Discussion 8 06-02-2008 08:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -