Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2011, 09:22 AM   #1
ottomatic
Telephone User
 
ottomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 10, '08
Posts: 144
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 722
Data Call Failure when Roaming

I have a crappy signal in my office and force my phone onto roam since I have free roaming. A couple of months ago, I started getting alot of Data Call Failure errors when on roaming or switching to/from roaming.

Called sprint and they were of no help.

Anybody else having similar issues?

My conspiracy theory is they are trying to get me off this ancient phone.
ottomatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 10:15 AM   #2
Bibbin
Cellular Phone User
 
Bibbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 5, '08
Posts: 1,588
Phone: ATT,HM,S &TMO
Thanks: 195
Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
SU$: 16,240
What device are you using? Have you tried a PRL Update? That may help.
Bibbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 10:52 AM   #3
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Why would Sprint be able to help? Roaming means you are using someone else's towers.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 11:30 AM   #4
Bibbin
Cellular Phone User
 
Bibbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 5, '08
Posts: 1,588
Phone: ATT,HM,S &TMO
Thanks: 195
Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
SU$: 16,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Why would Sprint be able to help? Roaming means you are using someone else's towers.
Seeing as roaming is included in the services OP pays for, calling Sprint for assistance makes sense to me.
Bibbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 11:44 AM   #5
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Well, then to clarify, roaming is included as part of the plan but roaming is not guaranteed nor troubleshooted as someone else owns the tower.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 11:27 PM   #6
ottomatic
Telephone User
 
ottomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 10, '08
Posts: 144
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 722
still battling this issue with my HTC Touch Pro 2.
Data Call Failure 78.
Tried, call to sprint, profile update and factory reset.
ottomatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:28 AM   #7
earglued
Telephone User
 
earglued's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 19, '09
Location: oh
Posts: 118
Phone: LG Marquee
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,502
I'm having the same problem when roaming and then entering Sprint coverage area.
earglued is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Windows Phone > Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) > Data Call Failure when Roaming

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sprint and other smaller carriers want FCC to force roaming rights Duffman Sprint Discussion 5 03-21-2011 11:18 AM
Data and Roaming Usage Limitations Changes Delayed BASHBRO Sprint Discussion 0 07-08-2010 03:31 PM
Will I be charged for Data Roaming? mideastbeast Sprint Discussion 10 06-26-2010 09:05 PM
Blackberry Data Roaming? Everything Data Family 1500 zachwisor Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 2 12-22-2008 09:23 AM
Unlimited Data Plan= Free Data Roaming In Canada? Spruce da Bruce Sprint Discussion 8 06-02-2008 08:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -